

AND OPEN SPACE DISTRICT

JOINT MEETING of the SONOMA COUNTY AGRICULTURAL PRESERVATION AND OPEN SPACE DISTRICT ADVISORY COMMITTEE and the SONOMA COUNTY OPEN SPACE FISCAL OVERSIGHT COMMISSION

January 26, 2017 MINUTES

PLEASE NOTE: The meeting opened as a business meeting of the Advisory Committee. The joint meeting to discuss the Mitigation Policy Guidelines was scheduled to commence after conclusion of the Advisory Committee's business meeting.

5:05 pm	Meeting convened at the District office, 747 Mendocino Avenue, Suite 100, Santa Rosa, California		
Members Present			
Cary Fargo	Curt Nichols	Kristin Thigpen	Bill Smith
Jan McFarland	John Nagle	Regan Connell	Elly Grogan
Don McEnhill	John Dell'Osso	Steve Rabinowitsh	

Members Absent

Doug Lipton Sue Conley Jeffrey Holtzman

Staff Present

Bill Keene, General Manager; Misti Arias, Acquisition Program Manager; Sheri Emerson, Stewardship Program Manager; Mary Dodge, Admin & Fiscal Services Manager; Kathleen Marsh, Stewardship Coordinator; Melina Hammar, Stewardship Technician; Kelsey Setliff, Stewardship Technician; Seamus Rafferty, Stewardship Technician; Catherine Iantosca, Stewardship Technician; Sue Jackson, Fiscal Oversight Commission Deputy Clerk; Bob Pittman, Chief Deputy County Counsel; Lisa Pheatt, Deputy County Counsel; Mariah Robson, Advisory Committee Clerk

Chair Rabinowitsh called the meeting to order at 5:05 pm.

Public Comment

Duane DeWitt expressed concern over the Burbank Avenue property in Roseland that is going to be purchased by the District to create the Roseland Creek Nature Preserve. He would like the preserve to stay in a natural state and not be built up with a lot of pavement and cement.

Approval of Minutes

Chair Rabinowitsh asked for any corrections to the December 8, 2016 minutes. Seeing none they were approved.

Laurie Gallian Resolution

Chair Rabinowitsh presented Laurie Gallian, who served on the Advisory Committee from 2009 to 2016, a Resolution of Appreciation and thanked her for her outstanding service on the Committee.

Advisory Committee Administration

a) <u>Election of Committee Officers</u>

Chair Rabinowitsh announced that he would like to step down as Chair. He nominated John Dell'Osso and Kristin Thigpen seconded the nomination. All were in favor, no oppositions or abstentions. John Dell'Osso accepted the nomination and took over the position.

New Chair John Dell'Osso nominated Don McEnhill for Vice Chair. Elly Grogan seconded the nomination. All were in favor, no oppositions or abstentions. Don McEnhill accepted the nomination.

Chair Dell'Osso asked for a nomination for Chair Pro Tem. Kristin Thigpen nominated Curt Nichols and Don McEnhill seconded the nomination. There was a vote and all were in favor, no oppositions or abstentions. Curt Nichols accepted the nomination.

b) Advisory Committee Rules of Procedures

Chair Dell'Osso asked for a review of the Advisory Committee Rules of Procedure. Bill Keene, General Manager, explained that the Rules of Procedure have not changed. There were no suggested changes from the members. Curt Nichols motioned to approve the Rules of Procedure, and John Nagle seconded the motion. All in favor, no oppositions or abstentions.

c) Ad Hoc Subcommittee Assignments

No new subcommittees were formed. The current subcommittees are the Ag Subcommittee, Matching Grant Program Subcommittee, and Comp Plan Subcommittee. Subcommittee assignments will be included on next month's agenda, and will include review of each subcommittee's members, and provide the opportunity for new members to be added.

d) Committee Calendar and Roster

Mr. Keene, General Manager, asked members to review the calendar dates for meetings in 2017. No changes were made. The calendar will be reviewed at the February meeting to determine the summer meeting schedule.

Break: The meeting recessed at 5:28 pm, pending a quorum of the Fiscal Oversight Commission.

At 6:07pm, the meeting was reconvened by Advisory Committee Chair John Dell'Osso. Fiscal Oversight Commissioners Bob Anderson, Regina De La Cruz, and Eric Koenigshofer were present.

Public Comment:

Duane DeWitt addressed the Committee and the Commission, thanking District clerical staff for their responsiveness to his requests for information regarding procedural matters over the past few months. He then expressed concern about the Matching Grant Program process, specifically about Bayer Farm. He noted that it was his understanding that Roseland area residents expected the property to remain a natural area, more in line with the District's "Water, Wildlife and Natural Areas" objectives, rather than as a project based on the objectives of the "Recreation and Education" component of the District's guidelines. John Lowry addressed the Committee and the Commission, urging the District to do a better job with mitigation and restoration. He cited the Santa Rosa Plain as an example of many small parcels, without there being a systematic approach for evaluating mitigation proposals. He included several other factors that impact mitigation, including the cost of housing in Sonoma County, the absence of affordable housing, and need for new housing construction. He recommended that there be a consolidated plan that addresses all the issues, and suggested that the District could have a role.

Guidelines for Evaluation of Environmental Mitigation Proposals:

Sheri Emerson presented the latest draft of the Guidelines. She distributed a decision tree, "Process Map for Evaluation of Mitigation Proposals," to illustrate the decision making process once a mitigation proposal is submitted to the District. Committee and commission members reviewed a sampling of past mitigation proposals, and the decisions made on each by the District. They discussed how the improved guidelines would benefit Sonoma County as it addresses mitigation issues.

The committee and commissioners directed staff to review the discussion points, and suggested that there be an additional opportunity to discuss the issues at each entity's subsequent meeting.

Announcements from Advisory Committee Members and Fiscal Oversight Commissioners: None.

Adjournment: The meeting was adjourned at 7:52 pm.

Next scheduled meeting date of the Fiscal Oversight Commission: February 9, 2017 Next scheduled meeting date of the Advisory Committee: February 23, 2017

Respectfully submitted,

Mariah Robson, Advisory Committee Secretary

Sue Jackson Deputy Clerk, Fiscal Oversight Commission