SONOMA COUNTY OPEN SPACE ADVISORY COMMITTEE February 24, 2011 MINUTES

5:35 p.m. Meeting convened at the District office, 747 Mendocino Avenue, Suite 100, Santa Rosa, California

Members Present

Andy RodgersJanet OrchardBill SmithCary FargoDennis MurphySue ConleyYancey Forest KnowlesSuzanne DoyleLaurie Gallian

Guy Wilson Steve Rabinowitsh

Members Absent

Douglas Hanford Kristin Thigpen Jeff Holtzman

Karen Bianchi Moreda John Nagle

<u>Staff Present</u> Bill Keene, General Manager; Sheri Emerson, Stewardship Program Manager; Misti Arias, Conservation Program Manager; Sue Gallagher, Deputy County Counsel; Janet Christensen, Advisory Committee Secretary; Carrie Johnson, Receptionist.

Public Attendees Donna Norton, Susan Kirks, Dan La Rochelle

Approval of Minutes

Chair Orchard called for comments on the minutes of January 27, 2011. Hearing none she called for the question. Motion by Laurie Gallian and second by Andy Rodgers to approve the minutes.

Mitigation Policy

Sue Gallagher, County Counsel, stated that as a result of the lawsuit that has been filed regarding the mitigation in connection with the Roblar Road Quarry, the Board of Directors has directed staff not to move forward with a mitigation policy at this time.

General Manager's Report

District staff will hold a Meet and Greet on Thursday, March 24 at 4:30 p.m. prior to the Advisory Committee meeting to give committee members an opportunity to meet and become acquainted with District staff.

March 3rd at 5 p.m. will be the final meeting of the Open Space Authority before it transitions to its new role as the Fiscal Oversight Commission on April 1st. There will be a reception for Al Alys and Paul Hammond who are retiring from the Open Space Authority after many years of service.

The Advisory Committee meetings will no longer be recorded. Action minutes of the meetings will be taken by the Advisory Committee Secretary. This issue was discussed with input and suggestions from Advisory Committee members and the public.

On February 24th, Bill Keene, Misti Arias and Peggy Flynn attended the Sonoma County Food Forum. Co-hosted by the Sonoma County Board of Supervisors, University of California Cooperative Extension, Sonoma County Department of Health Services, and Sonoma County Food Systems Alliance, the forum included discussions about Sonoma County agriculture, healthy food and food systems in the county.

Advisory Committee members and District staff honored Andy Rodgers for his service as the committee's chair from 2008-2011. Andy was presented with a Resolution of Appreciation.

Subcommittee Update

Stewardship/Resource and Land Management Subcommittee members Laurie Gallian, Doug Hanford, Kristin Thigpen, John Nagle, Cary Fargo, and Sue Conley, with staff member Sheri Emerson, will meet quarterly with their first meeting in March.

Conservation Planning and Acquisition Subcommittee members Suzanne Doyle, Guy Wilson, Karen Bianchi Moreda, Andy Rodgers, Bill Smith, and Jeff Holtzman, with staff member Misti Arias, will meet every other month with their first meeting in March.

Matching Grant Program Subcommittee members Suzanne Doyle, Yancey Forest Knowles, Janet Orchard, and Steve Rabinowitsh, with staff member DeAnna Kamber, will meet every 6 weeks with their first meeting in June.

Conservation Program Update

Misti Arias, Conservation Program Manager, gave a brief PowerPoint presentation giving a historical and current perspective on the District's conservation program. Committee members requested that staff have a follow-up meeting with the subcommittee to discuss appropriate public access on conservation lands.

Announcements from Advisory Committee Members

Laurie Gallian

• Two-hour hike on the Montini property with Sonoma Ecology Center staff – very impressed.

Steve Rabinowitsh

• Community Foundation raised \$60,000 and matched it with an additional \$60,000 to gift \$120,000 to local foodbanks that provide fresh fruit and vegetables to the community.

Adjournment: 7:20 p.m.

Next scheduled meeting date: March 24, 2011

Respectfully submitted,

Janet Christensen, Advisory Committee Secretary