SONOMA COUNTY OPEN SPACE ADVISORY COMMITTEE January 27, 2011 MINUTES

5:30 p.m. Meeting convened at the District office, 747 Mendocino Avenue, Suite 100, Santa Rosa, California

Members Present

Andy Rodgers	Janet Orchard	Bill Smith
Cary Fargo	Douglas Hanford	Sue Conley
Yancey Forest Knowles	Suzanne Doyle	John Nagle
Guy Wilson	Steve Rabinowitsh	Laurie Gallian

Karen Bianchi Moreda

<u>Members Absent</u> Dennis Murphy Kristin Thigpen Jeff Holtzman

<u>Staff Present</u> Bill Keene, General Manager; Maria J. Cipriani, Assistant General Manager; Sheri Emerson, Stewardship Program Manager; Sue Gallagher, County Counsel; Janet Christensen, Advisory Committee Secretary.

<u>Public Attendees</u> Kathy Tresch, Wernher Krutein, Kathy Wilson, Ken Mazzetta, Susan Baritell, Donna Norton, Susan Kirks, Jason Merrick, Sue Buxton

Approval of Minutes

Chair Rodgers called for comments on the minutes of December 16, 2010. Hearing none he called for the question. Motion by Janet Orchard and second by Karen Bianchi Moreda to approve the minutes.

New Year Advisory Committee Business Election of Officers:

Chair Rodgers opened the process for the nomination of Chair, Vice Chair, and Chair Pro Tem. Suzanne Doyle made a motion to nominate Janet Orchard to serve as Chair, Laurie Gallian to serve as Vice Chair and Steve Rabinowitsh to serve as Chair Pro Tem. Guy Wilson seconded the motion. Chair Rodgers called for the question.

Ayes: Hanford, Rodgers, Forest Knowles, Rabinowitsh, Smith, Nagle, Orchard, Gallian, Wilson, Doyle,
Fargo, Bianch Moreda, Conley
Noes: 0 Absent: Murphy, Thigpen, Holtzman

Review and Approve Rules of Procedure

The Rules of Procedure were reviewed and no amendments were suggested. Laurie Gallian made a motion and Andy Rodgers seconded the motion to approve the Rules of Procedure as is. Chair Orchard called for the question.

Ayes: Hanford, Rodgers, Forest Knowles, Rabinowitsh, Smith, Nagle, Orchard, Gallian, Wilson, Doyle,
Fargo, Bianch Moreda, Conley
Noes: 0 Absent: Murphy, Thigpen, Holtzman

Ad hoc subcommittee assignments

The following subcommittees for 2011 were proposed and members were invited to participate in the subcommittee of their interest: Conservation Planning & Acquisitions, Stewardship & Land Management, and Matching Grant Program. After a discussion, members were invited to email their preference for a subcommittee assignment to the Advisory Committee clerk.

Committee Calendar and Roster

The committee will continue to meet on the 4th Thursday of each month. A roster of the 2011 meeting dates was included in the members' packets.

The committee and staff welcomed new Advisory Committee member, Bill Smith, who will represent the Fourth Supervisorial District.

General Manager's Report

Maria J. Cipriani, Assistant General Manager, provided an overview of the District accomplishments in 2010.

Mitigation Policy

Sue Gallagher, County Counsel, stated that a lawsuit has been filed regarding the mitigation in connection with the Roblar Road Quarry. At this point the scope of the lawsuit may alter the timeline or components of the development of the mitigation policy.

Sheri Emerson, Stewardship Program Manager, gave a brief overview of how mitigation is used and passed out a proposed timeline for drafting of the District's Mitigation Policy.

Advisory Committee members gave their input as to the future work to be done on the mitigation policy issue.

Kathy Tresch, Donna Norton, Sue Buxton, Jason Merrick, Susan Kirks, and Susan Baritol made comments and gave recommendations regarding a mitigation policy to the Advisory Committee and District staff.

Adjournment: 7:20 p.m.

Next scheduled meeting date: February 24, 2011

Respectfully submitted,

Janet Christensen, Advisory Committee Secretary